Last Family Portrait

goat barn

With a heavy heart I decided this summer to find my goats new homes. Having to put my favorite goat down this spring after a long illness was the final straw. We think the problem we have here is sulfur water which inhibits the uptake of copper in goats. I wanted them to have the best homes they could and luckily there were plenty of good takers.

Our sheep seem to be thriving on our water and respect electric net fencing better which means they get to graze almost all year.

Goats are too heart-breaking for me–yet the barn will always feel a little empty without them.

26 thoughts on “Last Family Portrait

  1. Adrienne, so sorry to hear about your struggles! It is so terribly hard to raise animals, even with the rewards, but it sounds like you are doing the best thing here. Lovely photo, such a tribute. PS, say hi to your ducks for me, too.

  2. Oh, I’m so sorry. I didn’t realize that was what had happened. How sad for you and your family! But, no, you wouldn’t be able to keep them once you knew that. So the digestion of goats is a lot different from sheep and humans?

    1. I guess so. Who knew? But since half the family can’t have dairy it didn’t make sense to keep getting up to milk them either. We did keep two baby castrated boys as pets– since we can give them copper (they are companions for our rams now). Milking takes a lot out of the does so the mineral intake is more a big deal. The sheep are super cute though not as in your face friendly. lol

      1. OK, I didn’t like this comment because I like that you both have Lyme disease! How does it happen? Is it from ticks? Does chronic mean permanent? What are the symptoms? It sounds horrible.

      2. It’s a controversial topic, it seems. When you first get Lyme you can have flu-like symptoms or just vague aches. Lucky people get a bull’s eye rash so they know they have it.

        In my case I had a bunch of weird symptoms that I just attributed to working hard, etc. But then I got tested because the symptoms stopped going away.
        Some say there’s no such thing as chronic Lyme while others say it’s just a really slow recovery because it destroys your immune system. I’m not sure what I think.

      3. Oh man, I hate illnesses like this. Chronic fatigue. Fibromyalgia. All the ones that doctors don’t really understand and so the diseases become suspect.

      4. They still might. You probably can imagine how that goes. heh My hair stylist has been sick for years and finally was diagnosed with lupus when all her tests were haywire although she was feeling a bit better. Then she started feeling worse and they repeated the tests. Then they came back negative. How frustrating is that? And I mean she’s been SICK for years.

      5. That would be awful.
        My husband went through all of that so I’m heading for the holistic healer (who my doctor thinks is a quack). I’m open to the use of supplements and diet as well as conventional medicine. It seems a lot of people find relief with a strict diet. (that is a little depressing. LOL)

      6. I’m sorry. I can’t say yum. I love pumpkin pie, and it used to be my favorite breakfast growing up. But sweet potato pie has always tasted like it’s trying to be pumpkin! I hope it works for you!

  3. Animals are always harder on our hearts, simply because we connect with them so easily (no conditions…well, maybe not for fences anyway 😀 ). But as you have said, they have gone to good homes so at least they are well looked after.
    Now…what animal could you share your heart with now? 😀

    1. Thanks equinoxio. I’m doing really well. I’m always interested in methods of healing so it’s been fun to try Chinese medicine and dietary changes to see if they work. For me they do! I actually have more energy than ever but I did have to give up refined sugar and gluten. It’s worth it though!

      How are you doing, my friend?

      1. Glad it works Adrienne. 🙂
        We are doing as well as we possibly can. Getting geared up to join Daughter #2 in Asia in December for 3 weeks. It will be a nice reunion.
        Take good care of yourself.
        Brian

Leave a Reply

