After the Rain

003

012

009

12 thoughts on “After the Rain

  1. Your pictures suddenly made me think of my grandfather. He was a retired worker at the railroad, but came from a breton farmer family. I remember he always kept chicken and rabbits. Had a… jardin potager (?) by the railroad. Took us there once. I must have been 8. He grabbed some “weeds” out of the ground. A carrot. Brushed it on his blue worker trousers handed it to me and said: “Eat, boy, that’s the best carrot you’ll ever eat”. I ate it with earth and all. Know what? He was right. 😉

      1. Haha! You must have very strong fingers. (Learned to milk cows once. Lotsa fun, but not easy) The further advantage of carrots straight from the ground is that they don’t run away as goats may do) 😉 Yours must be a fascinating way of living, in these modern days. 🙂

      2. I’m always anxious this time of year (kids due next week). I never thought I’d have to put my arm up into an animal to retrieve a baby, but it happened. Life is so full of surprises. Some people find peace in milking but I admit that some days my fingers and forearms protest.

      3. Kids as in little goats, right? 🙂 And I imagine you’re not a vet, all learned on the “job” right? Do goats need milking twice a day like cows? I imagine they do… How many females do you have? Or put another way: how long do you spend milking every day? (Cross-eyed emoticon) 🙂

      4. We have 3 girls at present (goats). What we have done in the past with one goat was to allow her babies to run with her all day, put them away separately at night and then we just get the morning milk (which is plenty for us). Of course our other goat didn’t like her kids so I had to milk her twice a day anyway. My favorite goat gave birth a second time and we took the kids from her (she was a great mother but everyone told us we were crazy to let the kids stay with her the previous year. She was so traumatized she never recovered. She cried and cried. She lost weight and eventually died (the vet couldn’t figure out what from). After that I told my husband I couldn’t take babies away ever again. (it’s why I’m not a real farmer).

      5. A shame, poor goat. I’ve never been “close” to any, but animals have their own… personality. And all the Science of vets can be short. Very sorry.
        And maybe you’re not a “real” farmer, but you live on a “farm”, which is a rare experience. Children nowadays have no idea what chickens, rabbits, goats, even cows are… There is a picture of you with a little girl, so I assume you have children. Who are raised to know the difference between a chicken and rabbit, right? 😉 Have a lovely week-end, Adrienne.
        Brian

Leave a Reply

