Count Your Many Blessings

A spirit of gratitude!

Are you familiar with the old hymn that says in part, “Count your many blessings; see what God has done”? Although I don’t hear it often–it probably sounds old-fashioned to people who’re more accustomed to today’s contemporary Christian music–it does pop into my head from time to time.

And for good reason.

As someone who takes seriously what the Bible says about every good and perfect gift coming from “above”–that is, being gifts from God–I place gratitude high on my list of priorities. Even the least of God’s gifts is far more valuable than I can ever  pay Him back for.

And if I could–if I needed to–it wouldn’t be a gift. Gifts have no strings attached.

One of my original songs goes like this:

What good can I do? What good can I say
That’s good enough to pay the Lord for loving me?
There’s nothing I can do…

View original post 423 more words

Leave a Reply

