A Morning with Cows

I love the smell of manure in the morning.
I love the smell of manure in the morning.

Every year we look forward to our cow manure harvest just after the spring thaw with its muck moves north. Our good neighbor lets us take as much as we like. This year my husband brought only two shovels for three people (himself, son and me). He said I was no use to him with the cows about since I’d spend more time looking at them. And so it’s true.

HERE’S WHAT I SAW:

032

040

022

047

046

14 thoughts on “A Morning with Cows

  1. You have a nice face, Adrienne, and a great lifestyle. Judy planted your Black-eyed Susan seeds last week, so thanks again for sending them.

  2. I love to watch ducks (obviously! šŸ™‚ ) but watching cows (and chickens) (oh and sheep) comes close. It’s so relaxing! Perhaps we humans are hard-wired to feel better when we see peaceful, happy animals?

    1. Maybe it’s a stewardship thing. Imagine the first animals that befriended people (or the other way around). We’re all so interested in each other.

      I’ve always loved everything pastoral but there’s a decent amount of worry and heartache, too. šŸ™‚

      Have you seen the documentary Sweetgrass? It’s about the last of a dying breed of shepherding cowboys out west. It’s incredible (the commentary on the dvd is worth a second viewing.

Leave a Reply

