Blood Moon Sapping

Blood Moon Sapping
Blood Moon Sapping

“It’s what you have to do to evaporate 150 gallons of sap before (during) Easter to get 5 gallons of  dark sweet syrup,” my husband said when he came home after a week of  traveling and 12 hour work days.  “We have to sap tonight.”

I’m the cry-baby when it comes to cold weather and working late nights, but I behaved and spent time admiring the blood moon and husband’s work ethic. More syrup in my coffee! Hurray!

Mud, muck and cold for sweet rewards 11 pm
Mud, muck and cold for sweet rewards 11 pm

 

Me earlier in the day when I still thought sapping was fun.
Me earlier in the day when I still thought sapping was fun.
5 thoughts on “Blood Moon Sapping

      1. From the picture it seems you have about 1 4′ chimney….try increasing its length to about 10″ (for better draft) due you use a blower? Mine i not to much different and I am hoping between 16-20 gph next year. Fire bricks and a blower should increase u almost double.

      2. Thanks for the info! I will pass it along to my husband. 🙂 We used a little mattress blower just because we had it lying around, but my husband is planning something different for next year. What sort of blower do you have?

      3. Just used and in`line duct blower going into bottom of arch (abovr coal grate) then use a damper in a taller 8″ chimney. I had a setup similar to yours but found it hard to keep the far end of the pan hot. Changer the shape of my barrel to be more like an inverted P. This allows hot gases to be drawn past pan and up chimney. The damper can be used to regulate the amount of heat going up chimney and in eturn keep more heat inside to heat pans.

Leave a Reply

