Fudge Anyone?

I’m not really a fudge fan but my husband is so he jumped at the idea of me making it when we had too much milk from Pixie the drama goat.  I didn’t even know fudge had milk in it!

Having tea when baking settles the nerves.
Having tea when baking settles the nerves.

The recipe seemed easy enough so I didn’t bother reading the tips. I should have of course.

Simple, friendly-looking ingredients.
Simple, friendly-looking ingredients.

That would have saved me from the crazy bubbling-to-overflowing mishap on the stove. Why would it occur to me that a few cups of milk, sugar and cocoa would grow into a molten mountain of mess? Anyway, you should use a big pot and have a fire extinguisher near by–or a husband. Did I mention we found homes for all six of our extra roosters? I was thinking about this as the fudge began expanding.

One of the tips at http://www.everything-goat-milk.com/goat-milk-fudge-recipe.html was to make sure to keep the bubbling ingredients at the high temperature long enough or the fudge wouldn’t harden. Well, with the bubbling chaos threatening to  destroy the day I guess I rushed it a little. It turned out like this:

There's something kind of cool about food you can use as a mirror.
There’s something kind of cool about food you can use as a mirror.

It looked pretty but this is what it became when cooled which reminded me of my days as ice cream cake maker at Dairy Queen since it sort of tastes like hot fudge but not hot.

 

Maybe I'll use this as a very special play dough for my niece when she comes up!
Maybe I’ll use this as a very special play dough for my niece when she comes up!

Recipe from everythinggoatmilk.com:

Chocolate Pecan Fudge

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup goat milk
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Mix the cocoa powder, sugar and milk together in a pan. Heat on medium to medium-high heat, stirring to be sure the sugar is completely dissolved. Bring to a slow boil, and cook until the mixture reaches a soft ball stage, or 234° F. Stir frequently to prevent sticking.

Remove from heat and stir in the butter, pecans and vanilla extract. Beat by hand until the mixture becomes thick and glossy. Spread into a greased 8″ x 8″ pan. Cut into squares when cool, or slide the entire square out and break into pieces for a truly homemade appearance.


6 thoughts on “Fudge Anyone?

  1. Oh, dear. Forgive me but I just had to chuckle at your comments under the pictures and your rendition of making fudge. You see, many moons ago, when we were first married, I attempted to make fudge. Too runny, too sweet, not sweet enough, to hard. Too hard did it. A slab of brown came about like obsidian. Since self-deprecation is part of my demeanor, I took it to school, where I taught. Everyone had a good laugh, THEN, each in turn supplied us with more fudge than you can imagine. One, and only one, teacher shared her recipe, which I have used every year since.

    It took me much longer to master caramels.

    1. It happens to me far too often. I’m okay cooking when no one is home because I get focused, but when everyone is around–watch out! The first week we got a new stove I made a double batch of chocolate pudding and I didn’t realize how strong the new burners were. That time the pot was so big and heavy and hot I could do nothing but watch as the pudding ran down the stove and into the glass door of the oven through the vents. The chocolate is still there as a reminder 🙂

      What’s your worst kitchen disaster?

      1. Ugh! That sounds terrible! I once flooded my landlord’s basement with two feet of water. The worst part was that she’d been hiding all of her Christmas presents down there! happy new Year to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

